Household

Decluttering

The task goes on, the sorting and decluttering seems a never ending job. I never realised how much stuff I have and how much I still keep. I know that I don’t need most of it, but I still keep it!

I think it’s easier when I break into smaller tasks, so clothing is the big one, I only have a small hanging rail now, and knowing that I have had to get rid of a lot of clothing. I’ve keep at various capsule wardrobe ideas to help me see that I really don’t need that many t shirts, and yes they may be pretty but I actually only ever wear about 5 of them! It’s easier when I can actually see all my clothes and see what it is that I wear on a day to day basis. I do like to keep some rarely worn ones as I do find that I feel stuck in a rut otherwise with clothes and then end up buying more. Usually buying from charity shops, but it still adds up to clothes I didn’t really need to buy.

Right now I have a big bag of clothes that are ready to be donated to the charity shop, I could sell them but really it’s best to just get them out of the house. Once I’ve got my clothes down to a level I’m happy with I’m going to start on the next task, with the hope that by the end of the year I’ve made a real dent in the things I have.

I think that realising what I actually need is a good way to help me reduce my spending on things that while look pretty or are fun I don’t really need and may end up throwing out or just not using. Thus reducing my impact on the environment, I guess zero waste is good for this, knowing that I’m buying something that won’t get thrown away, that doesn’t have a bunch of unnecessary extras, buying exactly what I want for a reason. Although I imagine it’ll make finding things easier and cleaning quicker!

Leave a Reply

